Request from
PVS Nominating Committee

The PVS House of Delegates will meet on Wednesday May 21, 2008 to elect both members of the PVS Board of Directors and Board of Review. The persons elected will serve for the period September 1, 2008- August 31, 2010.

Elections will be held for the following positions this year: The current incumbents are shown in parenthesis

  • Administrative Vice-Chair (Art Davis)
  • Age Group Chair (Bill Marlin)
  • Operations Vice-Chair (Ron Whalen)
  • Strategic Planning Chair (Jim Thompson)
  • Board of Review Members (Kerry Ellett, Tim Husson, Jeff Roddin, Jim Thompson)

Ronald Whalen has served two full two years terms as Operations Vice Chair. Tim Husson, Jeff Roddin and Jim Thompson have served two full two year terms in their positions on the Board of Review. Under PVS By-Laws, these individuals may not be reelected to the same position.

Art Davis and Bill Marlin were first elected to their current positions in 2006. They are eligible to run for another full two year term. Jim Thompson was first appointed to his current position in 2007 to complete the remainder of a term of office created by a vacancy. He is now eligible to be elected for a full two year term. Similarly, Kerry Ellett was first elected in 2006 and Is eligible to be elected for an additional full two year term on the Board of Review.

The Nominating Committee has been advised that the PVS Administrative Vice-Chair plans to recommend to the PVS Board and if they concur to the PVS House that PVS's By-Laws be amended to increase the number of members of PVS's Board of Review from seven (7) to nine (9). An additional requirement would be that at least two members would have to be athletes. This is being proposed as result of actions taken at last year's United States Swimming House of Delegates meeting to change the model LSC By-Laws .

A vote on this proposed by-law amendment would be a scheduled to occur at the May House of Delegates meeting before the annual election of Board of Review members. This will permit the number to be elected (six rather than four) to be known when the election occurs. In addition, if the by-law amendment passes, two athletes will need to be elected this year, since there are no incumbent athletes on the Board of Review.  In order to have the number elected in future years be either five or four, and that at least one athlete would be elected each year, one of the athletes elected this year will (by drawing to be conducted after the election) be designated to serve an initial one year term.

The Coaches Representative to the Board will be selected by the PVS Coaches. Mark Faherty's term expires on August 31, 2008. He is eligible to run again for that position. The Coaches Representative whose term does not expire this year (Dan Jacobs) is responsible for overseeing the conduct of this election.

One Athletes Representative to the Board will be selected by the PVS Athletes 13 and older at the PVS Long Course Championship meets in July. Nominations to be on the ballot may be made at the May 2008 House of Delegates meeting. The incumbent of that position, Austin Auger, is eligible to run for that position. He has, however, indicated he does not plan to seek reelection..

The PVS Board of Directors has approved a Nominating Committee consisting of Riley Eaton, Jim Garner, John Hirschmann, Brian Pawlowicz and Greg York.  These individuals have advised that they do not wish to be nominated for a position to be elected this year on PVS's Board of Directors or the Board of Review.

The Nominating Committee may nominate a slate of one or more than one candidate for any position to be elected. Nominations may also be made from the floor at the House of Delegates meeting. Before deciding who it wishes to nominate, the Nominating Committee would like to learn of any individuals who wish to be nominated for any of the above positions. You may also recommend another individual for the Committee's consideration. If possible, please try to determine their interest in serving before doing so. The Committee will continue to accept nominations until the notice goes to the House at the end of the month, but has no plans to seek any more candidates.

They may be reached at: